Emmy Award: "Homeland" and "Modern Family" winners crowned

Homeland dethroned Mad Men Sunday evening by winning the Emmy for best drama series, one of the most prestigious awards in the great celebration of American television. Modern Family was named best comedy.

Mad Men has received this honor for four consecutive years. Homeland also won the trophy for best actress and best actor in a drama series, given to Claire Danes and Damian Lewis, in addition to the best-case scenario.

This is a second Emmy for Claire Danes, who has been appointed for the first time at the age of 16 years for My So-Called Life . Her interpretation of the CIA agent Carrie Mathison allowed him to win including Julianna Margulies, who had got hold of the statuette for her role in The Good Wife last year.

Born in London, Mr. Lewis for his trumped not only race favorite, Bryan Cranston of Breaking Bad, but also Steve Buscemi of Boardwalk Empire, Hugh Bonneville Downton Abbey as well as Jon Hamm Mad Men and Michael C. Hall of Dexter, who were both in their fifth nomination in this category.

Aaron Paul for his part, received the Emmy for best supporting actor in a drama series for the character of Jesse Pinkman in Breaking Bad, price he had already won in 2010 before being replaced by Peter Dinklage of Game of Thrones the following year. Paul was especially competition with his colleague Giancarlo Esposito.

The trophy for best supporting actress in a drama series went to Maggie Smith in Downton Abbey. Joanne Froggatt addition, as of Downton Abbey, Archie Panjabi and Christine Baranski in The Good Wife, Christina Hendricks of Mad Men and Anna Gunn of Breaking Bad were also nominated.

Three trophies for Modern Family

For the third consecutive year, Modern Family was voted best comedy. Two members of its distribution, Eric Stonestreet and Julie Bowen were also honored in the categories of Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

Jon Cryer from Two and a Half Man for his part, won the statuette for best actor in a comedy, while Julia Louis-Dreyfuss received the same award from the ladies for Veep.

"Do not panic, there is clearly a problem. I'm speechless, "joked interpreter Alan Harper, who said on the red carpet be sure not to win. Mr. Cryer particularly delighted statuette Jim Parsons, who won the award the past two years for her performance in The Big Bang Theory.

As for Ms. Louis-Dreyfuss, among others it was preferred to Amy Poehler of Parks and Recreation to Zooey Deschanel in New Girl and Melissa McCarthy of Mike & Molly, who had laid hands on the trophy in 2011.

Louis CK was awarded the Emmy for best screenplay for a comedy with Louie, while Steven Leviatan got the same honor on the level of achievement for his work in Modern Family.

A grand slam in Game Change

Inspired by the election campaign by Republican candidates John McCain and Sarah Palin in 2008, Game Change has dominated the miniseries category by obtaining not less than four Emmy Awards, including for best miniseries and best actress in a miniseries presented to Julianne Moore, who plays the former Alaska governor.

Kevin Costner won the first Emmy of his career thanks to his role as "Devil" Anse Hatfield in Hatfields & McCoys, which won the award for best actor in a miniseries. His colleague Tom Berenger was also awarded in the category of Best Supporting Actor.

As for the statuette for best supporting actress in a miniseries, she went to Jessica Lange for her performance in American Horror Story.